Chapter 11

Note: It’s “Whigna” and not “Wigna” And also, Chapter 11 and above would be my translations. Chapter 0 and below was Caluc’s translations. I asked her to wattpad and she said she doesn’t care so I post them here XD. She also said that I can post it on NU with my OWN group.

Melin’s salvation plan

Chapter 11

“You…”

Supporting character T approached us silently and raised her hand on the lever.

Her movements were ridiculously natural.

“How did you get here?”

“Did you think you were the only one thinking about getting out?”

Her eyes were not like a child because of it’s fierceness.

“I’ll help you. In exchange, take me with you.”

She began to press the lever freely before I could even respond.

With the added strength of three people, the manhole opened easily. At the same time, the sound of fierce water soared from the bottom.

I sent Tepeo down first and asked him.

“It’s going to rain, so the waterway’s going to be filled with water. Don’t be too surprised by that, and calmly tell me the height. Can you do that?”

“…yes.”

“Okay, I’ll be right behind you, so don’t worry and go down. And you.”

I turned my head to supporting character T.

“What’s your name?”

Supporting character T did not hide her dumbfounded expression because of what I said.

“You didn’t even know my name?”

“There’s no time to fight.”

“…Tyriel, It’s Tyriel.”

Tyriel. I repeatedly put one foot under the manhole.

“I can’t afford to care, so just follow me.”

“Of course.”

Tyriel answered in a gentle manner.

Even though she knows what I meant ‘I won’t help if you become dangerous.’

I started to go down the ladder with an oil lamp in my one hand. The wet handle was slippery, so I almost missed it several times.

“Tepeo, how much water is underneath?”

“…to my knees!”

“Okay, don’t go anywhere and wait!”

Looking up, Tyriel was coming down safely without any major problems.

I don’t have to worry about her.

As the floor got closer, the sound of flowing water rang fiercely as if it would tear my eardrum.

It was around the time that Tepeo’s face was visible on the lamp. An angry voice echoed.

“You devilish things!”

Edina seemed to have found an open manhole.

An empty smile came out.

Edina couldn’t have known what Hope Clementine had done. But who is the devil to whom?

Edina came after us fiercely, spilling abusive language that was hard to hear.

“We have to go down quickly!”

Tyriel hurried from above. The moment I felt impatient,

“Ah!”

My foot slipped.

I didn’t expect to be able to balance it with an oil lamp in one hand.

Please don’t hurt my feet…!

Then, something grabbed my waist strongly.

“Are you all right, Melin?”

It was Tepeo. I don’t know where his strength to catch me came from in that skinny body.

“…Thank you.”

“Hurry up. She’s almost down.”

I came to my senses when Tyriel came down behind me.

The waterways were filled with deep darkness and the sound of water ringing in our ears.

The view was narrow even though there was a light.

“Let’s go.”

I held Tepeo’s hand tightly and walked quickly along the dark waterway. Black water was on our knee.

“Do you know the way?”

Tyriel, who followed us, asked with an uneasy voice.

“Don’t worry and follow me.”

I don’t have a map in my hand, but we won’t get lost. I was sure. At least I memorized everything I needed to. 

The question was which way to go.

“Melin, which way are we going?”

Tepeo asked as if he had read my thoughts.

I looked around in the dim waterway. We only have one chance to choose or the waterway would be filled again.

“On the fastest way out of this waterway.”

“And what if people see us?”

“It’s been raining since morning and it’s late now. I’m sure a few people go around at times like this.”

While we were talking, a small waterway was just around the corner.

“I’ll take the lead from now on.”

When I bent down and went inside, the water level soared above my waist. The smell of fishy water was all over the place.

I lifted the oil lamp high to prevent it from getting wet.

“Walk slowly because the floor is slippery. Edina’s size doesn’t make it this far anyway.”

“Oh, okay.”

We haven’t had any conversation for a while. We just walked and walked along the pitch-black road while breathing heavily.

We can’t stop, we can’t go back.

As far as I know, 《Azley’s glorious misfortune》 disappeared the moment Hope died.

Then what will happen if we get out of here?

Can I convince Duke Hillderox  with the uncertainty I have?

Perhaps we will wander around the streets before reaching the duke’s residence and be taken to the security office and sent back to the nursery.

“Melin.”

Come to think of it, Edina will report us.

Even if we were lucky enough to reach the duke’s residence, it was clear that he would not be able to even try negotiations if the duke knew that we were children who killed a person and ran away.

“Melin!”

It was at that moment that Tepeo’s voice was heard.

“The lamp is weird.”

“What?”

I checked the oil lamp that was in my hand. The brightness was sharply lowered.

“The oil…”

I think It’s about to fall.

As soon as I thought so, the surrounding area was immediately filled with darkness. There was a smoky smell at the end of the burnt wick.

“Are we ruined?”

“Be quiet, Tyriel.”

My head was aching.

“Melin…”

“Shh.”

I completely closed my eyes after making Tepeo’s mouth shut.

Left, left, right, center at the three waterways.

I’m certain.

“Tepeo, hold my hand.”

I said so and threw the oil lamp that had gone out into the water.

“Tyriel, you and Tepeo hold hands.”

“What are you going to do?”

“I’ll keep going.”

I have to go.

I whispered and started to walk. One step when there was light and one step when there was no light was the different between heaven and earth.

“I’m going crazy….”

Tyriel was singing in a trembling voice.

I stammered forward on the wall. I could feel the strength in Teppeo’s hands.

“Keep going, Melin.”

The voice was so clear. In the dark where you can’t see even an inch ahead.

“We are on the right path.”

It’s funny. What are you talking about?

Our hands we held were wet. Our clothes were all wet and stuck to our skin, and the water was terribly cold.

It’s obviously a hopeless situation, but I thought we could somehow get out of here.

I put my strength on my feet.

I walked along the road I drew in my head. I just walked. Until I see something.

And at one point, I saw a light in the distance.

Seeing the dark, her eyes didn’t miss it.

“Isn’t that a light?”

My steps were already speeding up before Tyriel said that.

Ladder. Steel ladders fixed to the wall are dimly visible.

When I arrived there and looked up, small holes came into my eyes. A thin light flowed down through it.

“Outside…”

It was Tyriel who went up first.

After that, I sent Tepeo up and finally put my foot on the ladder.

The light-hungry children quickly climbed up and pushed out a heavy slab.

The lid crept a few times and opened to the side with a tingling sound.

And finally we breathed into the air on the ground. The moisture after rain. The smell of living grass and soil permeated my nose.

Looking up at the sky casually, I let out a small sigh.

I didn’t know how long we had wandered through the waterway, but it was clear that it was enough time for the dark clouds to go away.

There were countless stars looking down.

A patch of clouds floated through the gap between the dancing stars.

While looking up at the sky, I forgot the cold on me.

Then, lately, something caught my attention.

“Where…”

It was a narrow and dirty alley that I didn’t know where it was.

The old blades and fragments of carved wood were wet and scattered around.

It seemed to be a long way out of the central city area.

“Where are we?”

“Well, at least I know where the square is.”

It was Tyriel who answered my own words. I turned my head after his eyes.

At the end of the gaze was a huge statue that covered the sky.

Every citizen in the capital knows who the statue is.

“Whigna…”

The goddess’s name came out like a sigh.

Whigna.

The statue, whose exact name is “The Glory of Whigna,” was a symbol of the capital built in the central square.

The huge statue, modeled after the face of a saint, can be seen anywhere in the city, so even if you get lost in a crowded alley, you could find the central square when you headed toward Whigna.

That was why it was better known as the “Milestones of Whigna” than its original name.

“Are we going to the square?”

One thought on “Chapter 11

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started